Making an English Comb-back Windsor Chair – Part Six

There’s a very marked difference between the mild to warm winters here in the Antipodes and winters back home in the Northern Hemisphere: I do most of my work outdoors (my small ‘workshop’ basically amounts to tool storage only) and on the second day of winter, bathed in glorious winter sun, I began staining the chair.

The chair stained ‘Fox Terrier Red’.

I shouldn’t have opened my big mouth! Since then, dense morning fog, damp 11° C. (52° F.) days and now, heavy rain have conspired against me, retarding the drying of the linseed oil and progress in general. I’m a great believer in ‘making hay while the sun shines’ – tomorrow I could be feeling under the weather, or indeed, the weather could be coming down around me – so I eagerly snatched any clear spells there were to continue building up the finish.

Today the sun made a few brief appearances and I was able to finally wax the chair.

The finished chair…

… and from the side.

The crest rail.

The pegs securing the crest rail to the back sticks.

‘Bear’s Ear’.

The three-piece arm.

The arm posts.

Wedged arm post.

Shaved and scraped back sticks.

The legs and stretchers.

I can be well content to sit on a wooden bottom chair myself, provided I can but have common food and raiment wherewith to pass through life in peace. [i]


[i] Thomas Sheraton, The Cabinet Dictionary Containing an Explanation of all the Terms Used in the Cabinet, Chair and Upholstery Branches, with Directions for Varnishing, Polishing and Gilding, W. Smith, London, 1803, p. 118.

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Seating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making an English Comb-back Windsor Chair – Part Six

  1. Jeff Aldred says:

    WOW might be a bit of an understatement, but we Canadians tend to be an understated lot.
    The execution is wonderful, and the form is very inviting. That is a chair that I want to spend some time in.
    There is also a certain economy that usually comes from a form being built and refined over a long period of time. In our throw away society, I wonder if we will be passing on any refined economical designs to future generations.
    Thank you for sharing these builds with us. I am in awe!

    Like

  2. Tico Vogt says:

    A wonderful creation! Congratulations.

    Tico

    Like

  3. Pingback: Future Proofing My Exploits | Pegs and 'Tails

  4. Ian Cuerden says:

    Thanks so much , as a new boy to Windsor chair making your observations and tips born of your vast experience are inspiring and I have learned so much merely by reading your detailed guide.I paricularly like the way you fabricate the arms.The weather in Australia seems infinitely better than the Summer we’ve had in Lancashire this year !!!

    Like

I welcome your comments

