An Impostor in Our Midst! – Part One

My good friend Glen Rundell, maker of North American style Windsor chairs (I’m working on that), hosted a couple of Windsor chair making courses in late 2011 in conjunction with visiting North American chairmaker, Peter Galbert. Glen himself trained in North America under Galbert and another Windsor chairmaker, Curtis Buchannan.

Peter Galbert (left) with a student during the class. (Rundell & Rundell)

Another friend, who attended the first chair making course came away with an in-the-white continuous arm rocking chair which he’s been staring at ever since, wondering how to proceed with it.

I was being shown the chair one day at my friend’s house and I posed the question “How are you going to finish it?”… which is how the impostor presently happens to be residing with me!

Something I never thought I’d see on this blog.

My brief is to polish the chair with a bit of ageing.

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Seating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Impostor in Our Midst! – Part One

  1. Eric R says:

    Lets face it my friend, he brought it to the right man…

    Like

  2. burbidge says:

    Well, you should have a lot of green paint left…

    Like

  3. Phil Spencer says:

    Looks like there may be another war of Incandescence about yo start at Jacks place

    Like

I welcome your comments

