Another Double Bow Windsor Chair – Part Four

I mixed up some stain and applied it to the raw wood. When dry, I began building up the oil finish and once it was sufficiently cured, I gave the chair a good waxing.

Fig. 1. All polished up.

Fig. 2. The bead now well defined.

Fig. 3. Swirling elm seat and walnut spindles.

Fig.4. Walnut ‘Goldsmith’ legs.

Fig. 5. The new double bow Windsor chair.

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Seating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Another Double Bow Windsor Chair – Part Four

  1. Robert says:

    Another beautiful double bow windsor chair and so quickly!! Any idea of what`s next? I`ll be looking for it and thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      Thank you. I was going to make a set of Windsor side chairs for kitchen duties, but they’ll have to wait for a while. I’ll probably make another case piece next though I won’t be starting it until I can collect the necessary timber for it in a couple of weeks’ time.

      JP

      Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Excellent! Has marital harmony descended on the household now that the project has been completed?

    Like

  3. Joe M. says:

    Jack, another beautiful piece! Well Done!, I (along with everyone else) envy your talents. Any hints as to which case piece is next?
    A George II bur elm bombe’ commode on short cabriol legs? I’m sure Virginia would like to have one of them in the house, but you would need to do the dusting!
    Joe

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      I think I will tackle either the William and Mary simulated tortoiseshell chest of drawers or the William and Mary Anglo-Dutch rhombi parquetry chest of drawers, but am undecided as yet.

      JP

      Like

  4. Joe M. says:

    Would the second choice of chests be the “olive oyster” or the Walnut cross banded”? If you choose the first chest would you also add the later application of japaning?
    Hard to decide which, they all have different challenges…… any of them will closely followed! thats for sure. Let us know why you picked the next project. It would be interesting to know your reasons.
    Thanks again for your posting and sharing these pieces with us.
    Joe

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      The second option is the rhombi parquetry chest, but if I elect to make the simulated tortoiseshell chest, it won’t include the later japanning, which although very attractive, was not what the original maker had in mind for his chest.

      JP

      Like

  5. Robert says:

    Tortoiseshell you say!! I`ve already been bitten by the mulberry bug because of you. I have read of such a finish and admired the tortoiseshell pick guard on my guitar. I want to do it and hope you will help. Two piecrust tea tables. One Mulberry and the other tortoiseshell. I can`t express my antisipated excitement of doing such work that you seem to do so easily.

    Like

I welcome your comments

