A George II Ash Bureau – Part Two

I prepared all the ash and pine boards and rubbed pairs of them together to form the relevant carcase and dustboard panels. When dry, I tidied up the panels and cut the dovetails and dustboard housings.

Being a mid-century case, the 3/4″ thick drawer dividers are made separately from the dustboards (compare with this earlier method of construction) and have their ends half-dovetailed into the carcase sides (fig. 1).

giiab_240813_01a

Fig. 1. Pine drawer divider housed into ash carcase.

The 1/2″ thick dustboards are glued into rebates in the upper rear edges of the drawer dividers (fig. 2).

giiab_240813_02a

Fig. 2. Underside of divider/dustboard.

giiab_240813_03a

Fig. 3. Dividers dry-assembled in carcase.

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Case Furniture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A George II Ash Bureau – Part Two

  1. Will it take a screen and CPU?

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    That’s a pencil line on picture No. 1, not a crack, right? Did you make your 1/2 dovetail slots with a router?

    Like

  3. D.B. Laney says:

    Will there be adequate space for an inkwell, Mr. Plane? And, perhaps a spot for a “pen” knife, and some good bond. I wonder, would a photographic representation of the “hag’s tooth” prove elucidative. I, personally, have always had problems finding the power switch on the darned things.

    Like

  4. Gary Cook says:

    Hello, beautiful work. Can you tell me how you made the ogee and d-mouldings please? As far as I can see, they are cross grain pieces, so that the grain is vertical when on the cabinet? I have many moulding planes, but would struggle to cut cross grain I think. Would one use a router table, or am I missing a very pertinent detail? I would really like to learn this, as I think the mouldings with vertical grain have such a wonderful effect. Thank you.

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      The bureau’s base moulding is along the grain. I assume you’re referring to the mouldings on the walnut chest I linked to in the above post. These are indeed crossgrain mouldings. If you peruse the Image Galleries (in the menu at the top of the page), you’ll see crossgrain mouldings in more detail.

      Crossgrain mouldings are a little trickier to make than long grain mouldings, but they are infinitely possible with judicious removal of the dead areas with a shoulder plane and careful scraping and sanding.

      JP

      Like

  5. Gary Cook says:

    Yes, sorry, I did mean the walnut chest. I think I understand it now. Thank you.

    Like

I welcome your comments

