Pinch and a Punch for the First of the Month

From Samuel Pepys’ diary entry for the 1st of January, 1662:

Waking this morning out of my sleep on a sudden, I did with my elbow hit my wife a great blow over her face and nose, which waked her with pain, at which I was sorry, and to sleep again.

Rowlandson_459Thomas Rowlandson, The Bassoon with a French Horn Accompanyment, circa 1811.

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Distractions. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pinch and a Punch for the First of the Month

  1. ged gardiner says:

    This is a delightful scene and I can’t help but focus on the bed and its quite modern format. How very few “vernacular” beds must have survived – do you know of many? I would be especially interested to find a simple four poster to copy. Cheers and Happy New Year.

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      Surprisingly, and despite being excruciatingly uncomfortable, plenty of vernacular beds do survive.

      The grander beds of the middle and upper classes are also well represented in museums and great houses, due to their superior manufacture, materials and in some instances, provenance.

      I remember, as a child, playing in a revolving summerhouse whose entry onto its veranda was flanked by two turned and carved former bed posts.

      JP

      Like

  2. Clark Schoonover says:

    I am not familiar with it, but I really like it!

    Like

I welcome your comments

