Die Kommode mit funf Schubladen

… As the non English-speaking George I would have called this five drawer chest – the third of five chests of drawers that I’m making for the up-coming book.

This chest dates from around 1720 and employs Virginia walnut veneer on a pine carcase with walnut mouldings. The chest’s top and drawer fronts are additionally crossbanded with almond and strung with box wood.

book_Geo_I_chest_itw_01aThe George I walnut chest in-the-white…

book_Geo_I_chest_finished_01a… and finished.

This is the first bracket-footed chest and also the first with bail handles. The two earlier chests can be seen here and here.

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Die Kommode mit funf Schubladen

  1. Joe M. says:

    Beautiful…..What dimensions? What is the finish/color/ Can’t wait for the book! Give us some details to “wet our whistle”. Was almond a common cross veneer? Too many questions so little time! Thanks Jack

    Like

  2. ROBERT LINDH says:

    Any idea on a publishing date?

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      Sorry Robert, I have no idea when the book will be published. I am a long way off finishing the text let alone the chests and I am debating adding a sixth chest to address all the construction techniques I want to incorporate in the book.

      Your patience is admired and appreciated.

      JP

      Like

  3. Jim Pallas says:

    Moldings crowned, mouldings revered, banding, stringing, bunn feet, bracket feet, questions, questions, will the book reveal all? Well executed chest Jack.

    Like

  4. bernardnaishb says:

    I intend to make a copy of a Queen Ann batchelors chest. This will stretch my skills and will become my laptop stand. I am tempted to finish the wood as close as I can get to that applied in the early 18C with no attempt to reproduce the decades of fading and wax polishing. This will be a quite startling look I suspect. I just want to know what it looked like when it was made and as it aged. Your work is outstanding and I look forward to the book.

    Like

  5. John Rawlings says:

    Looking forward to the book, like everyone else here, but I would enjoy the inevitably lengthy preambles to build a sense of the social history behind the examples, as you but it. I vote for the pedantic version not the reproduction light version. I really like your oak, walnut, and mahogany historical approach. Those cutting their teeth on furniture reproduction, as you put it, can skip the text and “read” the pretty pictures.

    Like

  6. Mark Cass says:

    Your woodworking activities continue to delight all who read of them, and the photos of your work make me (and I suspect many others) feel unworthy. I would encourage you to include the sixth chest in your book for completeness; wish you the best of luck with the whole thing (probably not needed), and look forward to reviewing it one day.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Unreasonable Fourth | Pegs and 'Tails

I welcome your comments

