Picture This LXXXII

The work of deranged cabinetmaker, Anne Nomalous, has surfaced again: Evidence of her hand has appeared, this time, in the upside-down cyma recta top moulding of a laburnum chest of drawers in Lawrences’ upcoming fine art sale on Friday the 15th of April 2016.

Lawrences_lot_2125-0William and Mary laburnum oyster and line-inlaid chest. (Lawrences)

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Auction Alerts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Picture This LXXXII

  1. Ken Hughes says:

    Is she deranged due to her work or was she clinically deranged? Also, when is the likely date of this? 1700-1710?

    Like

  2. Tim Raleigh says:

    The inlay is beautiful. The inverted cyma is a fail for me…is that typical of the period?

    Like

    • Jack Plane says:

      Absolutely not! The point of this post was to highlight something that is just plain wrong: I can’t even accept that it was a whimsical preference on the part of the customer.

      Mouldings (and their orientation) follow very strict architectural orders and a cabinetmaker of this accomplishment would have simply refused to comply with such a request from a customer – a break from tradition like this could have seriously damaged their career.

      Without examining the chest in person, I can’t even hazard a guess as to how the top moulding came to be.
      JP

      Like

  3. Adam Palmer says:

    Are those feet just old doorknobs? The line-inlays are awful. I feel like this might have been a career that needed to be damaged.

    Like

  4. Tom D. says:

    My first thought was of ol’ Anne rolling her eyes after her well-heeled client had given his very explicit design preferences. Money talks, and it may be that Anne made a calculation that not enough people would see the travesty to damage his rep.

    And I’ll bet the piece isn’t signed. :^)

    Like

  5. Paul Murphy says:

    Tom D. Has a point. Years ago I installed a crown molding upside down. I had begun my work, installing crown on the kitchen cabinets, when the client appeared. He, an architect, declared that my method seemed upside down to him. I told him it was not, and his response was a facial expression that looked like he’d just eaten one hundred lemons. “Very well, let’s just do it your way.” I didn’t say that, but that’s what happened. A tiny cavetto above an inverted cyma recta is what he got, and he loved it. When I was very much younger, I butchered a boullette table. A very nice reproduction Louis XVI table that was, “too tall for me to place my cocktail on.” It made me feel a little bit like the muscle in a loan shark criminal gang. “Give us the money Joey, or Murphy’s gonna beat up your girlfriend. She won’t be pretty anymore after he breaks her face!”
    I needed the job.

    Like

    • My in-laws have some inverted crown molding of precisely the same style in a bathroom that they recently renovated, but I believe it was more a result of ignorance, rather than preference, on the part of both workman and client. I pointed out the error to my wife after the room was completed, and she just shrugged her shoulders and said, “It looks fine to me!” I simply divert my gaze from the room’s upper perimeter when I use the facilities, lest the troubled feeling in the pit of my stomach worsen rather than improving upon completion of nature’s call.

      Like

  6. Joe M says:

    The chest did well….2800….. compared to the pre auction estimates

    Like

  7. vincent says:

    Do we know what this sold for?

    Like

I welcome your comments

