First Day on the Job?

Christie’s have just published The A-Z of furniture: Terminology to know when buying at auction which I suspect was penned by one of their porters a freshman intern.

Their definition of caning certainly differs from that which I frequently experienced at school.

JP

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Antiques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Day on the Job?

  1. Tom Baker says:

    I viewed the Christie’s definition, now seem a bit confused, what would consider a more correct one to be?

    Like

  2. diceloader says:

    I’d like to be a teacher, and have a clever brain,
    Calling out, “Attention, please!” and “Must I speak in vain?”
    I’d be quite strict with boys and girls whose minds I had to train,
    And all the books and maps and things I’d carefully explain;
    I’d make them learn the dates of kings, and all the capes of Spain;
    But I wouldn’t be a teacher if …
    I couldn’t use the cane.
    Would you?

    “The Teacher”
    C.J. Dennis

    Like

  3. bsrlee says:

    Looking at some of the entries, perhaps ‘English as a Second Language’? Probably the same mail order diploma mill as has been providing the ‘journalists’ for the Australian ABC Internet News?

    Like

  4. Tim Caveny says:

    Hear, hear!
    I think your definition applies to ‘journalists’ worldwide.

    Like

  5. Eric Rusch says:

    Who the hell did the selection of what person to undertake this task?
    Someone was asleep at the switch …

    Like

  6. Paul Murphy says:

    I didn’t think it was bad. A glossary intended for neophytes who truly do not know anything about the subject matter, must be very simplified. Whenever I think about instructing the unknowing about furniture, I compare it to teaching English, for example. Just about the time I might have my pupil just a little bit ready for advancement, I might have to explain why the word laugh is spelled l a u g h.
    Jack, have mercy on the uninformed.

    Like

I welcome your comments

