Can you handle this?

1447

I require a set of brass handles of the pattern illustrated above. Strangely, it’s not an uncommon pattern, yet I searched through my boxes of strays for comparable bails and backplates without any luck and I haven’t been able to locate satisfactory matches from any of the usual reproduction brass foundries either.

I am therefore appealing to the readership for help once again: If anyone should happen to have a set of eight of theses handles (or even a part set) that they would be willing to sell me I would be eternally grateful.

Alternatively, I would even be interested in borrowing/renting a single bail and backplate to carefully copy. The originals would be returned in as-received condition.

If you feel you can help, please contact me.

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Cabinet Fittings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can you handle this?

  1. Nice handles, not sure I recognise those backplates, they are excellent. Shall have a look around. Keep well Jack.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A George II Walnut Serpentine Chest – Part One | Pegs and 'Tails

  3. Jack Plane says:

    The handles have now been sourced. Thanks to those who offered help and suggestions.

    JP

    Like

I welcome your comments

