Season’s Bleatings

The setbacks and frustrations have been several this year; a few have been unavoidable due to health issues, but others could and should have been avoided.

Of these, the year’s greatest disappointment has been the loss of the entire text and the majority of the photos for a book on case furniture I was writing, thanks to a ransomware virus on the ‘puter (I have isolated the encrypted files in the hopes that one day a key will be found to unlock them).

I haven’t been able to make as much of the furniture from the Proposed Furniture Program as I would have liked this year, but with a little luck and a couple of aspirins I will make some inroads in that direction in the New Year.

Despite spending many hours over the past twelve months attempting to improve the temperament of the workshop cockatoo and tutoring it in polite phrases spoken solely in the Queen’s English, the bloody thing still favours unsavoury expletives and continues to utter frequent uncouth directions to go forth and multiply.

cocky_01aInnocence personified!

Has anyone ever had a crack at making bird glue?

Jack Plane

About Jack Plane

Formerly from the UK, Jack is a retired antiques dealer and self-taught woodworker, now living in Australia.
This entry was posted in Distractions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Season’s Bleatings

  1. Eric R says:

    Whatever happens to Pegs and Tails in 2017, you can expect me to come along for the ride.
    I have enjoyed all the offerings in 2016 and I don’t expect that to change.
    Happy new year my friend and good health.
    Eric
    central Florida
    USA

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kevin says:

    thanks you for all of the comments and banter over the year, its been great,and always makes me smile…

    Like

  3. Well, I hope next year you’ll be able to ‘fix’ those issues! :)
    P.S. It’s a bit radical but… In some places of the world I heard some folks do a great bird soup… lol

    Like

  4. Jack Plane says:

    Thanks to all who offered advice and links to various anti-virus sites. I check them all regularly, but to-date, no key has been discovered for the ransomware virus that took over my files.

    JP

    Like

  5. Paul Murphy says:

    It’s obvious that some miscreant is tutoring the bird. How else; how in Heaven’s name could one possibly explain the innocent’s penchant for foul language?
    You must identify this scoundrel. It’s obvious he’s a stealthy fellow, and enterprising. My thoughts are with you as you undertake this difficult business. When at last you discover te evildoer, dispose of him according to your best insticts. You needn’t trouble your gentle readers with the terrible sanctions that you must ultimately mete out to this rascal.

    Like

  6. Peter says:

    I can only emithis with you. technology is indeed a two edge sword, best of luck, all the best Peter

    Like

  7. RobinWire says:

    HNY JP!

    December 2015 saw me spend 36 hours trying to salvage my own computer and ultimately giving in, stripping the computer and accepting the loss of everything. I feel your pain.

    See you during 2017,
    RW

    Like

  8. bsrlee says:

    Re: Parrot. Have you tried the freezer and chook routine?

    Like

  9. Tim Raleigh says:

    Hilarious. Happy New year BTW.

    Like

I welcome your comments

